+44 (0)19467 23470
Home Rooms Dining The Pub Self-catering Info Reviews Location Events Local Area +44 (0)19467 23470

Customer Reviews

"A fantastic meal"

A very warm welcome awaits any weary traveller at this pub. We enjoyed a fantastic meal here over the weekend. A very generous portion of food, which was just what was needed after trekking after hounds on the fells. Sadly no room left to sample a pudding. Hugely enjoyable traditional song evening to finish.
Reviewed 27 November 2017

"Great little pub with loads of character and lovely food"

We visited the George on several occasions during our stay in Eskdale. The food was amazing and you get plenty of it and the selection of draught ales was fantastic. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating and the landlord was brilliant, gave us loads of local information, places to go etc.
THe George is well worth a visit, we will defiantly be heading back.
Reviewed 28 September 2017

"Amazing pub and food"

Amazing pub and food. Landlord and staff were all very friendly. Lots of various ales to sample. The food is the best we have ever tasted. The steak and ale pie was fantastic. All the food we had was wonderful and you get huge portions. Nice areas outside to eat and a bouncy castle to tire out the grandchildren! Will definitely go back 5 + stars in our reckoning.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

"Stay at King George IV inn"

We have just come back from a wicked weekend at the King George IV inn.. me and a group of friends stayed in the cottage attached to the pub/restaurant .. the place was perfect...Ate in the pub at night...2 of us are vegan so had some trepidation as to what we would be getting... BUT the food was awesome... they just asked us what we wanted and they made something up for us... all very nice...
All the staff were super nice and helpful!!
Would definitely recommend this pub / restaurant / cottage to anyone!!
Reviewed May 2017

"Lovely stay"

The accomodation is rustic and yes could do with a little sprucing up but it is totally acceptable and actually quite charming and cosy....
We ate one meal in the pub that is attached and found it to be very good quality with large portions and good value for money...The owners/bar staff were all lovely, very friendly and approachable...We absolutely loved our weekend stay here and will hopefully return again soon.
Reviewed 20 March 2017

"Excellent meal"

We had another excellent meal tonight at The King George IV Inn. Lasagna to die for!! Fantastic family pub, lots of room for large groups and a wonderful log fire burning. Great choice of beers and staff are very accommodating and friendly.
Reviewed 11 March 2017

"Nice traditional pub serving tasty home cooked food"

Traditional low beams stone flagged floors, good selection of local beers. Friendly staff serving good sized portions of tasty food including home made burgers & lasagne. Good place to eat after a walk in the beautiful Eskdale valley.
Reviewed 3 March 2017

"Beautiful country pub"

Me and my partner stayed here, It was completely unplanned and we didn't intend to stay but when we arrived after a cold travel to the lakes we knew we wanted to stay here overnight. We had our evening meal here which was faultless, the staff there are so friendly and welcoming. We have been back twice since first stumbling upon this country pub, (im glad that we did :)). I would tell anyone to stay here, the morning views are dream like and the breakfast is fab too.
Reviewed 6 November 2016

"Traditional Pub Decor and Good Food"

Visited while on holiday. Nice pub with a lovely old feel to it. Loads of old memorabilia and no loud unwanted music. Barman was happy and relaxed when serving us. Food was scrumptious with good sizes portions. Dogs welcomed.
Reviewed 1 September 2016


The staff are helpful and attentive. The beer is well kept. The establishment is perfectly clean. The portions are big. It all just needs a little updating. Other than that everything is perfect. Would I go back? Yes without doubt.
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Read more reviews at Trip Advisor...